Nancy Taylor

nancy taylor headshot

 

What pronouns do you use?  She/They

Where will you be located while serving on the board? Poughkeepsie, NY

Please describe your activity with any Recovery Dharma sangha, including local, affinity, inter-sangha, circle, or volunteer with the board.   (Affinity: some members of Recovery Dharma create sangha groups around identities such as Black, Indigeneous and People of Color (BIPOC), Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning, Intersex and Ally (LGBTQIA) Women; or interests such as recovery around process addictions, food or codependency. Circle: an independent volunteer work group)

Sat as a member of the inclusion circle at the Inception of Recovery Dharma in 2019 and 2020. Co-created and facilitated the first RDO BIPOC meeting.  Assisted with start of and facilitate RD BIPOC Sunday meeting.

Briefly describe your professional/livelihood history in a narrative , and upload a resume or copy it below.  Reminder that many life experiences can be applied to the work of a Board. This includes, but is not limited to service with local groups, managing a household or service on another nonprofit board.   

My professional livelihood is in the field of addiction recovery.  I have extensive clinical experience in the field of addiction. I currently am employed with the County Family Treatment Court assisting parents who have lost or are in danger of losing their children due to their addiction.  I also own a private business which honors individuals’ choice of recovery through the multiple paths offered.

Are there other special or unique skills that you believe would benefit serving as a board member? (please see announcement

The language of recovery is especially important to me.  I am trained in trauma informed care.  Language can create or trigger current or past traumas for individuals in early or sustained recovery. One of my unique skills is the focus on a person-centered approach to recovery. Also, helping break some of the barriers that recovery presents to some people.

Please use the space below to share a brief (300 words or less) statement about yourself.  The questions below are offered as prompts for topics you might find helpful. We do not anticipate that you will answer each one. 

Your experience in recovery and renunciation; and something you’re currently working on in your growth and recovery;

I am a woman in long term recovery. For me that means that for 13 years, I have not felt the need to alter my moods with any alcohol or illegal substances. I am currently working on my fears of being in public forums and grieving the loss of the family unit I once knew.

What your Buddhist background (if any), and practice looks like;

I found Buddhism in 2015 upon the death of my mother and the diagnosis of Dementia of my father.  I knew I did not want to return to use but didn’t know what to do.  A friend suggested meditation.  This worked. I became curious about the origin.  I started to learn about Buddhism.

I have been practicing since.

Your  understanding, training, skills, experience, and any specific interests around inclusion, diversity, equity and accessibility;

As a woman of color in the world as it looks today, one of my goals is to be present and share the voices of those who feel unsafe, rejected, left out and judged.  The experiences they are having, I have shared as well.

Any other information you would like to convey that you think will help the community get to know you and make an informed decision about their votes!

I believe everyone has a choice and a voice in their recovery.  I believe every voice has the right to be heard, acknowledged and respected. No matter where we come from, our culture, ethnicity, economical situations or sexual orientation,  we are all here, together, walking the path of recovery.