Tom Hantzarides

tom hantzarides headshotWhat pronouns do you use? He/Him

Where will you be located while serving on the board? Delray Beach, Florida (Palm Beach County)

Please describe your activity with any Recovery Dharma sangha, including local, affinity, inter-sangha,
circle, or volunteer with the board. (Affinity: some members of Recovery Dharma create sangha groups
around identities such as Black, Indigeneous and People of Color (BIPOC), Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,
Transgender, Queer/Questioning, Intersex and Ally (LGBTQIA) Women; or interests such as recovery
around process addictions, food or codependency. Circle: an independent volunteer work group)

I am the Communications Chair for Recovery Dharma South Florida, which includes Palm Beach,
Broward, and Miami-Dade Counties. I have been a member of the Palm Beach County (Delray Beach and
Boynton Beach) sanghas for over a year. My interests include LGBTQ issues and recovery from alcoholism.

Briefly describe your professional/livelihood history in a narrative , and upload a resume or copy it
below. Reminder that many life experiences can be applied to the work of a Board. This includes, but is
not limited to service with local groups, managing a household or service on another nonprofit board.

My career has been in broadcast sales, marketing, and on-air. I hosted and produced the first LGBTQ
radio show in the country, have worked for some of the most prominent radio stations in South
Florida and across the USA. I have also been on the board of trustees of Saint Mark Greek Orthodox
Church in Boca Raton, and served on the Archdiocesan Council of the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of
North and South America.

Are there other special or unique skills that you believe would benefit serving as a board member?
(please see announcement)

In the past I have been involved in fund-raising, marketing, and communications, both verbal and
written.

Please use the space below to share a brief (300 words or less) statement about yourself. The questions
below are offered as prompts for topics you might find helpful. We do not anticipate that you will
answer each one.

I first got sober in 2001 and had 18 years of continuous sobriety. About July 2019 I started drinking again
sporadically until it became a serious problem again in December 2019. On January 8, 2020, I entered an
intense treatment program that included 28 days of treatment and 9 months of IOP. It was during treatment
that I was introduced to meditation, yoga, and Recovery Dharma. RD resonated with me and have continued
with it to this day. I just celebrated one year of sobriety on January 8, 2021. Honestly, I have never been better physically and mentally and my Buddhist practices and RD have a lot to do with that. I am also the co-chairperson for the 2021 Recovery Dharma Global Summit and helped formulate the bid for Delray Beach.

My Buddhist practices included daily meditation, reading the works of Thich Nhat Hanh. I have completed the
inquiries with a mentor, and I still work with my mentor. I have worked with a couple of men in writing their
inquiries. I am an out, gay man, who has been married for over 3 years. I have worked with the Compass
LGBTQ Center in Palm Beach County on LGBTQ issues. I hosted and produced the first LGBTQ radio show in
the country where I dealt with issues such as: transgender, conversion therapy, the gay community and faith,
stereotypes, and more.

A lesson learned: Practice the Noble 4 Truths and the Eightfold Path in my daily life. Every day.